[ 14. Januar 2013 ]

CALL – Korean Electro-Acoustic Music Society’s 2013 Annual Conference & its Computer Music Journal, Emille

From: PyoungRyang Ko
Date: Sun, Jan 13, 2013 at 6:36 AM

The Korean Electro-Acoustic Music Society’s 2013 Annual Conference & its Computer Music Journal, Emille, present:

Call for Proposals

The Korean Electro-Acoustic Music Society (KEAMS) is pleased to announce a call for proposals for the 2013 KEAMS annual Conference and its journal Emille. KEAMS was formed to promote active research and discussion on electro-acoustic and computer music, and will hold the this year’s conference during the Seoul International Computer Music Festival (SICMF 2013: http://www.computermusic.or.kr/ ) from October 29th to November 2nd, 2013. Selected papers from the conference will be published inEmille Vol. 11 (December, 2013). If you want your paper or workshop idea to be considered for the 2013 KEAMS Conference, please send an abstract or proposal (maximum of 2,000-characters including spaces) and curriculum vitae as PDF documents to .

Category of Topics
For the KEAMS conference, the following topics are encouraged:
a) Creative Encounters between Music and Science
b) Multidisciplinary or Interdisciplinary Research (co-authors acceptable)
c) Systematic Musicology (Computational Musicology, Computational Music Theory)
d) Analysis of Electronic and Computer-based Music
e) Sound Synthesis
f) Music Psychology
g) Instrumentation
h) Development of electronically-extended Musical Instruments
i) Music Software Engineering
j) Artificial Musical Intelligence
k) Computer-aided Composition/Analysis
l) Automatic Composition

Important Dates
– Deadline for Proposal Submission: January 31, 2013
– Notification of Acceptance of the Proposal: March 1, 2013
– Deadline for Paper Submission before Conference: August 31, 2013
– Conference: November 1-2, 2013
– Notification of Selected Paper for the Journal Emille: November 5, 2013
– Deadline for Final Paper Submission: November 30, 2013

Each session will consist of up to four presentations. Each paper will be presented in person for about 25 minutes followed by ca. 5 minutes of discussion. If you want to give a keynote presentation, you will be given about 50 minutes to present, followed by ca. 10 minutes of discussion. Please include the word keynote in your submission if you are planning on applying for a keynote presentation. The length of each workshop will be about 90 minutes. Video conferencing over the Internet is also available.

Your ideas are critical in making the conference and Emille enriching, important and substantial. We look forward to reviewing everyone’s entry.

As demonstrated by the following examples, participants may submit more than two proposals, making a whole presentation session or an additional workshop session:

Example 1: Presentation Session Plan *
Session Sample topic: Spatialization
(4 x 30 min. = 25 min. presentation + 5 min. Q&A)
Presentation 1 Spatialization methods using less than 8 channels
Presentation 2 An overview of the design of a Loudspeaker Orchestra
Presentation 3 Applications of Ambisonics and Spherical Acoustics
Presentation 4 A proposal of multi-3D audio reproduction system for the multi-functional concert hall
* You may submit several proposals without a session plan.

Example 2: Workshop Session Plan **
Session Sample topic: Using controllers for composition and acoustic installations
(3 X 90 min.)
Workshop 1 Controllers using various sensors and Arduino
Workshop 2 Use of Smartphones and Tablet PCs as controllers
Workshop 3 Inter-application uses of Controllers
(Using Processing to Control Csound, MaxMSP, PD and SuperCollider)
** You may submit a single proposal for a workshop. You also may submit multiple proposals for individual workshops without a session plan.

Thanks to funding from the Korean Arts Council, the registration fee and publication fee will be waived.

It is also possible for students and non-experts in the fields mentioned above to submit proposals for the conference and the journal, Emille. All proposals will be screened by the program committee and selected solely based on the quality of the research and topic.

Your ideas are critical in making the conference and Emille enriching, important and substantial. We look forward to reviewing everyone’s entry.

Emille, the Journal of the Korean Electro-Acoustic Music Society

Editorial Information

Committee Chair / Editor in Chief
Lymn, Young-Mee
Lecturer of Electro-Acoustic Music (EAM) & Music Theory (MTh) at Hanyang University etc.

Committee / Editor
Ko, PyoungRyang
Lecturer of MTh & EAM at Seoul National University, Sookmyung Women’s University etc.

Committee / Editorial Board

Breitenfeld, Roland
Professor of Composition and Electronic Music at Seoul National University

Chang, Jaeho
Professor of Music Technology at Korea National University of Arts

Cho, Jinok
Lecturer of MTh at Seoul National University, Chung-Ang University etc.

Cho, Youngmi
Lecturer of EAM & MTh at Pyeongtaek University etc.

Dudas, Richard
Professor of Composition and Computer Music at Hanyang University

Eckert, Gerald
Professor of Composition at Chung-Ang University

Kim, Han Shin
Lecturer of EAM at Sookmyung Women’s University etc.

Kim, Jin-Ho
Professor of Composition, Computer Music and Musicology at Andong National University

Lee, Byung-moo
Lecturer of Composition, MTh & EAM Music at Chugye University for the Arts etc.

Lee, Kyogu
Professor of Music Information Retrieval, Music DSP at Seoul National University

Moon, Seong-Joon
Professor of Composition at Chugye University for the Arts

Nam, Unjung
Professor of Computer Music at Baekseok Arts University

Parks, Kevin
Professor of Composition and Computer Music at the Catholic University of Daegu

Shin, Seonga
Professor of Composition at Keimyung University

Sigman, Alexander
Professor of Composition at Keimyung University

Yeo, Woon Seung
Professor of Audio visual art, New Musical Interface, Mobile Orchestra and Music DSP at Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)

Yim, Jongwoo
Professor of Composition at Hanyang University

Committee / Editorial Advisory Board

Ahn, Doo-jin
Professor of Composition at Hanseo University

HWANG, Sung Ho
Professor of Composition at Korea National University of Arts

Lee, Donoung
Professor of Composition at Seoul National University

Cho, Wonhyong
Researcher at the National Institute of the Korean Language