[ 1. Mai 2017 ]

NEWS – Giga-Hertz Award 2017: Call for application

Von: dbecker via cec conference
Datum: Fri, 28 Apr 2017
Betreff: [cec-c] Giga-Hertz Award 2017: Call for application

Call for application: Giga-Hertz Award 2017

Application deadline: 26th May 2017

Since 2007 the Giga-Hertz Award for electronic and acousmatic music has been jointly awarded by the ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics and the EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO of the SWR. The award belongs to the most important of its kind internationally and celebrates its 10th anniversary in 2017. This year, the Giga-Hertz Award is endowed with a total of 20,000 €. The two internationally oriented Giga-Hertz Special Prizes are each endowed with 5,000 €. They serve to initiate and promote new projects and are directed at composers of electronic and acousmatic music.

In 2016 the Giga-Hertz Grand Prize for Lifetime Achievement went to the American Curtis Roads who counts to the most influential composers of the electroacoustic genre and who developed further the granular synthesis aesthetically and theoretically in his compositions. The presentation of the award in 2014 aroused enormous attention on account of a historical meeting of the ambient pioneer Brian Eno and the joint inventor of the musique concrète Pierre Henry. Previous awardees of the Grand Prize were important figures like Pierre Boulez, John Chowning, Francis Dhomont, Jean-Claude Risset, Pauline Oliveros, Emmanuel Nunes, Gottfried Michael Koenig, Trevor Wishart and Jonathan Harvey. Giga-Hertz Special Prizes of former years inter alia went to Huihui Cheng, Elvira Garifzyanova, Alexander Schubert, Jagoda Szmytka and Vinyl -terror & -horror.

For further information see http://zkm.de/en/about-us/awards/giga-hertz-award
For details regarding the application see http://zkm.de/en/about-us/awards/giga-hertz-award/online-application