[ 26. Februar 2017 ]

NEWS – New Gerhard Book

Von: Monty Adkins
Datum: Sun, 26 Feb 2017
Betreff: [cec-c] New Gerhard Book

I thought some may be interested in a new book on the work of Roberto Gerhard now out published by Cambridge Scholars Publishing.

The book covers much of Gerhard’s later instrumental music from 1940 onwards as well as a chapter on his seminal electronic piece Lament for the Death of a Bullfighter and another on his only aleatoric piece Claustrophilia – A Page for John Cage – for 8 harps, 4 radios and live electronics (this was actually a newly discovered piece that was written for Cage’s Notations. Gerhard wrote it on the back of a page of the draft of his Concerto for Orchestra). For whatever reasons Cage did not publish Claustrophilia, but instead chose to publish Gerhard’s more traditional Concerto page for Notations. We premiered this piece as part of a Gerhard research project and its associated conference in 2012 with the performance curated by Gregorio Karman (author of the Lament chapter).

The book features chapters from Michael Russ, Carlos Duque and me, Gregorio Karman, Belen Castillo, Rachel E. Mitchell, Darren Sproston, Julian White, and Trevor Walshaw.

I hope this may of be some interest to you or your academic composition colleagues.

All best
University of Huddersfield inspiring tomorrow’s professionals.

This transmission is confidential and may be legally privileged. If you receive it in error, please notify us immediately by e-mail and remove it from your system. If the content of this e-mail does not relate to the business of the University of Huddersfield, then we do not endorse it and will accept no liability.