[ 1. Oktober 2010 ]

SYMPOSIUM – CFP, Techno-soundings, Acousmatic Methodologies of the Ear

From: Kevin Austin
Date: September 30, 2010 5:05:38 PM GMT+02:00
Subject: CFP: Techno-soundings: Acousmatic Methodologies of the Ear

Techno-soundings: Acousmatic Methodologies of the Ear

25-27 March 2011
The University of Hong Kong

Department of Music, School of Humanities, The University of Hong Kong

This symposium intends to interrogate and reflect on various
methodologies for investigating the means by which members of a
society evolve as communities of listening in different locales.
Moreover, it focuses on those who are exposed to the same music
through historical experiences such as colonialism, for instance, and
through applied technologies such as the radio, records, cassettes,
and the internet. Leading questions include: how do these disparate
communities articulate and share their versions of a style of music in
renditions where the sound is removed from its original source and
made local through taste yet global through their experience with
music technology; how are communities of listening mobilized; how do
these disparate communities of listening fit into a world of
interconnectedness and difference; how can the senses of hearing and
listening assist the observer in learning a culture and develop an
understanding of the way members of a society know one another? These
are but a few of the questions the symposium will address. We welcome
papers in all fields dealing with recorded music, senses of hearing,
and the acoustemologies of various technologised sound cultures.

Invited speakers include Andrew F. Jones (UC-Berkeley), Michael
Denning (Yale University), and Earle Waugh (University of Alberta).

Speakers will have 20 minutes for their presentations and 10 minutes
to respond to questions. Abstracts of no more than 250 words should be
submitted by 30 November 2010 to Lee Watkins at leeww@hku.hk. Each
abstract should include the presenter’s name, institutional
affiliation, telephone numbers, and email address. Presenters of
approved submissions will be notified by 31 December 2010. Proceedings
will be conducted in English.

Dr. Lee Watkins
Department of Music
The University of Hong Kong
Pokfulam Road, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 2859 7014
Fax: +852 2858 4933
Email: leeww@hku.hk

****End of forwarded message****


Dr J. P. E. Harper-Scott
Senior Lecturer
Department of Music
Royal Holloway, University of London